Global Soccer

Who wins the bid to host the 2027 FIFA Women's World Cup?

The jostle for the hosting rights of the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup has begun just a few days after the curtains of the 2023 edition were drawn down.

Four remaining bids in the race to host the showpiece will know their fates during the 74th FIFA Congress in May 2024.

According to the world soccer governing body, the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup will be the 10th edition and will have the most comprehensive bidding processes in the history of the competition.

Leading the remaining four bids in the race to host the tournament are the joint bid by the Royal Belgian Football Association, the Royal Netherlands Football Association and the German Football Association. These three European neighbors are hoping to win the bid with stiffer opposition coming from the Brazilian Football Association bid, the South African Football Association bid as well as the joint bid by the U.S. Soccer Federation and the Mexican Football Association.

As per the bidding processes, member associations had until May 19, 2023, to submit a bidding agreement while a bid workshop and observer program were scheduled to have taken place during the just-ended tournament in Australia and New Zealand.

Meanwhile, potential hosts are expected to submit full bids to FIFA by December 8, 2023, which will be followed by FIFA on-site inspection visits in February 2024.

Spain Women’s National Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button