Dakar set to host 2018 CAF Awards after shortlists were revealed by CAF

The people of Senegal will host the creme de la creme of African soccer when Dakar hosts the 2018 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Awards on Tuesday, January 8, 2019.

The process for the Awards Gala, to honor footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review begun when CAF Technical and Development Committee released the shortlisted nominees for all categories.

The final phase to determine the various winners will involve votes from CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and Coaches & Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

The 10 shortlisted nominees for the flagship award, the African Player of the Year include Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal), Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance), Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) and Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly).

The nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year award are Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian), Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash), Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign), Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit), Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow), Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash), Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang), Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United) and Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning).

For Youth Player of the Year, the nominees are Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd), Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan) and Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City).

Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Herve Renard (Morocco) and Moine Chaabani (Esperance) will vie for the Men’s Coach of the Year award while the shortlisted nominees for the Women’s Coach of the Year include Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon) and Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria).

Madagascar, Mauritania and Uganda are the nominees for the Men’s National Team of the Year while Cameroon, Nigeria and South Africa fight for Women’s National Team of the Year award.
AFCON 2021 qualifiers: Ghana name squad to face Sudan

Project African football to the top of the world - FIFA President urges CAF

Qatar 2022: 40 African nations begin the search for 2022 FIFA World Cup tickets

2021 AFCON qualifiers: Current champions Algeria thrash 2012 champions Zambia

Former Japan boss Vahid Halilhodzic succeeds Herve Renard as coach of Morocco

AFCON 2019: South Africa stun hosts Egypt, Nigeria eliminate defending champions Cameroon

AFCON 2019: Benin eliminate Morocco to shock the footballing world

AFCON 2019: All set for Round of 16!