Nigeria Super Falcons rule Africa again!

Nigeria Super Falcons have retained the African Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) trophy after beating South Africa 4-3 on penalties in the grand finale of the Ghana 2018 AWCON played at the Accra Sports Stadium.

This is the ninth time that Nigeria have conquered the rest of Africa and have also exacted a sweet revenge on the South Africans. Bayana Bayana defeated the Nigerians in their Group B opening encounter in Cape Coast and were hoping to repeat the dose and dethrone the African women soccer super powers but the Nigerians had other ideas as they remained resolute to defend the title successfully.

The game started on a heated note with South Africa on the front foot and Jermaine Seoposenwe fired the first warning with along rage shot from 25 yards out, but Nigeria goalkeeper Oluehi Tochukwu was equal to the task.

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala responded with a goal bound header two minutes later which was parried to safety by South Africa goalkeeper, Christen Swart.

There was no dull moment in the remaining minutes of the regulation time despite the barren score line.

In the 72nd minute, Nigeria had a golden chance to score the opener after South Africa goalkeeper Christen Swart fouled Nigeria's Francisca Ordega in the box and were awarded a penalty. However Asisat Oshoala’s kick went wayward.

With nothing to separate both teams even after extra time, there came the lottery of penalties and it was Nigeria who converted four of their kicks as against three for South Africa to win the 2018 Africa Women’s Championship.

The result leaves Nigeria with nine titles (1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2016 and 2018). In the third place playoff, Cameroon beat Mali for the second time in the tournament with a 4-2 scoreline in Cape Coast to finish third. They will therefore join Nigeria and South Africa for next year’s FIFA Women's World Cup in France.
AFCON 2021 qualifiers: Ghana name squad to face Sudan

Project African football to the top of the world - FIFA President urges CAF

Qatar 2022: 40 African nations begin the search for 2022 FIFA World Cup tickets

2021 AFCON qualifiers: Current champions Algeria thrash 2012 champions Zambia

Former Japan boss Vahid Halilhodzic succeeds Herve Renard as coach of Morocco

AFCON 2019: South Africa stun hosts Egypt, Nigeria eliminate defending champions Cameroon

AFCON 2019: Benin eliminate Morocco to shock the footballing world

AFCON 2019: All set for Round of 16!