2018 Ballon dOr: Can Luka Modric break another Messi/Ronaldo duopoly?

The 2018 Ballon d’Or nominees have been released by the editorial staff of France Football with Croatia and Real Madrid star Luka Modric looking to make it three out of three in various prestigious world soccer awards for the year 2018.

Modric is named alongside 29 other notable players as he seeks to break another Lionel Messi/Cristiano Ronaldo duopoly after winning the European and World Best Player awards.

This year’s ceremony is scheduled for Paris, France on December 3 as both Messi and Ronaldo who share the last 10 Ballon d’Or accolades try to stop Modric from his total dominance as far as the 2018 individual best soccer player awards are concerned.

Also in the list are France and Paris Saint-Germain wonder kid Kylian Mbappe, Wales and Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale, England captain Harry Kane, Manchester City duo Sergio Aguero and Kevin de Bruyne Liverpool keeper Alisson and forwards Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino.

Paul Pogba, of Manchester United, and Chelsea pair Eden Hazard and N'Golo Kante are also on the 30-man list.

This year’s edition will also recognize best women soccer players following the announcement of the nominees for the inaugural Women’s Ballon d’or.

Full list of the 2018 Ballon d’Or nominees:

Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Edinson Cavani (PSG), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Diego Godin (Atlético Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Isco (Real Madrid), Harry Kane (Tottenham), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Mario Mandzukic (Juventus), Sadio Mané (Liverpool), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Lionel Messi(Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Neymar (PSG), Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Luis Suárez (Barcelona), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid).

Full list of the nominees for Inaugural Women’s Ballon d’Or:

Lucy Bronze (Lyon), Pernille Harder (Werder Brême), Ada Hegerberg (Lyon), Amandine Henry (Lyon), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Sam Kerr (Red Stars Chicago), Saki Kumagai (Lyon), Amel Majri (Lyon), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon), Marta (Orlando Pride), Lieke Martens (Barcelona), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign), Wendie Renard (Lyon), Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns).
FIFA signs pact with China to develop soccer in the most populous country in the world

Poland 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup: Over 53,000 tickets sold in first day of Visa Presale

Poland 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup: FIFA legends Bebeto and Fernando Couto to decide fate of 24 qualified countries

2022 World Cup hosts Qatar win first-ever AFC Asian Cup

2018 FIFA U-17 Women World Cup: South African twin sisters savor World Cup experience

2018 FIFA U-17 Women World Cup: Ghana embarrass hosts Uruguay

2018 Ballon dOr: Can Luka Modric break another Messi/Ronaldo duopoly?

More tougher years ahead – 2018 FIFA Best Players Modric and Marta admit